Transit Toronto is sponsored by TransSee.ca bus tracker and next vehicle arrivals. TransSee features include vehicle tracking by route or fleet number, schedule adherence, off route vehicles and more advanced features. Works on all mobile devices and on any browser.
Supports Toronto area agencies TTC, GO trains, MiWay, YRT, HSR and GRT, as well as NY MTA, LA metro, SF MUNI, Boston MBTA, and (new) Barrie.

No subway service, Bloor to Osgoode,
after 11 p.m. April 13, all day April 14



Update — Friday, April 12, 5:03 p.m.: The TTC has revised the schedule for the closure. Before 11 p.m. Saturday, April 13, the line is closed only between Bloor and Union.


Apr_BY_Osgoode.jpg

The TTC is closing part of the Line 1 Yonge - University subway between Bloor and Osgoode stations for part of this weekend, as crews continue installing the automated train-control (ATC) signal system. Saturday, April 13 after 11 p.m. and Sunday, April 14, Line 1 subway trains operate only between Vaughan Metropolitan Centre and Osgoode stations and between Finch and Bloor stations.

Frequent shuttle buses operate to partially replace subway service, dropping off or picking up passengers on the street near each of the stations on the closed section of the line. Wheel-Trans service is also available if you need accessible connections.

Most stations on this section of Line 1 remain open so that you can buy fares. However, Wellesley Station is closed.

According to a TTC news release, “When ATC is fully installed on Line 1, it will provide a more modern and reliable signal system that will help the TTC improve capacity by allowing for increased trips on the line.”


The TTC has already closed this section of Line 1 several times earlier this year:


The TTC is planning to close parts of this section of Line 1 several more times more this year:

  • Monday, April 22 until Thursday, April 25 - early closure - Bloor to St Andrew - signal upgrades.
  • Saturday, May 11 and Sunday, May 12 - St Clair West to Union - signal upgrades.
  • Saturday, May 25 and Sunday, May 26 - St Clair to Union - signal upgrades.
  • Saturday, June 8 and Sunday, June 9 - St Clair to Union - signal upgrades.
  • Monday, June 17 until Thursday, June 20 - early closure - Bloor to Union - signal upgrades.
  • Monday, June 24 until Thursday, June 27 - early closure - Bloor to Union - signal upgrades.
  • Saturday, August 10 and Sunday, August 11 - St George to King - signal upgrades.
  • Monday, September 23 until Thursday, September 26 - early closure - Bloor to St Andrew - signal upgrades.
  • Saturday, November 9 and Sunday, November 10 - St George to King - signal upgrades.
  • Saturday, November 23 and Sunday, November 24 - St George to St Andrew - asbestos removal.
  • Saturday, December 7 and Sunday, December 8 - St George to St Andrew - asbestos removal.
  • Saturday, December 14 and Sunday, December 15 - St George to St Andrew - asbestos removal.