Transit Toronto is sponsored by TransSee.ca bus tracker and next vehicle arrivals. TransSee features include vehicle tracking by route or fleet number, schedule adherence, off route vehicles and more advanced features. Works on all mobile devices and on any browser.
Supports Toronto area agencies TTC, GO trains, MiWay, YRT, HSR and GRT, as well as NY MTA, LA metro, SF MUNI, Boston MBTA, and (new) Barrie.

No subway service St. Andrew to Union,
this weekend, August 16, 17



Update — Friday, August 15, 7:22 a.m.: The TTC is opening its second platform at Union Station Monday, August 18.


YUS-August-St_Andrew_to_Union.jpg

The TTC’s ongoing project to build a second platform at Union (subway) Station requires it to totally close the 1 Yonge - University - Spadina subway line between Union and St. Andrew Stations this weekend.

All day Saturday, August 16 and Sunday, August 17, subway trains operate between Downsview and St. Andrew Stations and between Finch and Union Stations.

Since you can’t travel by subway between Union and St. Andrew Stations, the TTC advises you to to exit the University - Spadina leg of the subway further north than St. Andrew to avoid crowds. If you are traveling as far south as Union, transfer at Queen’s Park, St. Patrick or Osgoode Stations to eastbound streetcars operating along the 506 Carlton, 505 Dundas or 501 Queen routes, then transfer again at College, Dundas or Queen Stations to the Yonge leg of the subway.

Of course, streetcars operating along the 504 King route continue to connect St. Andrew with King Station.

You can also transfer from streetcars operating along any of those routes to buses operating along the 6 Bay route to travel to Union.

If you’re paying by cash or ticket, make sure you get a paper transfer where you pay your fare to show the streetcar or bus driver when you board.

Regular subway service resumes Monday, August 18.

For passengers who require accessible transit between Union and St Andrew stations, an accessible Wheel-Trans vehicle will be available. Ask any uniformed TTC employee at either station for directions on where you can board Wheel-Trans.


While closing the subway is a short-term inconvenience to passengers, the result of the project will be better service for the thousands of passengers that board or exit from the subway Toronto’s major transit hub at Union Station. (Many of you also connect with GO Transit trains and buses at Union.)

This is the latest in this series of weekend closures to disrupt service in the same stretch of the 1 Yonge - University - Spadina subway as the TTC works towards opening the second platform. This year, it’s already closed this part of the line Saturday, January 11 and Sunday, January 12, Saturday, January 25 and Sunday, January 26, Saturday, February 8 and Sunday, February 9 and Saturday, February 22 and Sunday, February 23.

During earlier parts of the project, it also previously closed the subway between St. Andrew and Union Saturday, September 8 and Sunday, September 9, Saturday, November 10 and Sunday, November 11, Saturday, December 8 and Sunday, December 9, 2012, Saturday, January 26 and Sunday, January 27, Saturday, November 23 and Sunday, November 23 and Saturday, December 7 and Sunday, December 8, 2013.